Staying Up For Nostalgia

27 Jul

I am so tired. Too tired to run at 6 AM. I’m not sure why I continually do this to myself, especially after a day like yesterday. Tantrums ensued, nap time was skipped, we had no working kitchen. For a brief moment I considered washing dishes and preparing food in the bathroom but the thought literally had my stomach turning.

That’s not to say the bathroom is dirty because it’s not. I cleaned it earlier that morning but let’s just say I had visions of Kramer on Seinfeld preparing a meal in his shower.

So after a lackluster meal not prepared in my shower I finally got the little guy to fall asleep. I felt like a champ. Victory was mine. Instead of taking my win and hitting the sack myself, I stayed up to catch the 90’s Are All That (Teen Nick’s newly introduced block of 90’s TV shows from yesteryear). 

I fought sleep for 2 hours just to watch All That, Keenan and Kel, and Clarissa Explains It All. For some reason it made me happy to relive a part of my child. Just as happy as I was making friendship bracelets during nap time last week.


It brought back memories of life before it got hard. Before one had to think about babies, student loan payments, jobs etc. It brought back memories of family vacation when we actually got to see these shows live at Universal Studios.

And just like that I snapped out of it. I had to call it a night before Doug came on. I just couldn’t do it. I’m not some college kid home for the summer, smoking bowls in my parents basement. A late night block of TV isn’t feasibly possible anymore for me as a mom.

So hear this Nick. Get rid of one of your cable networks and turn it into 90s Nick. Then maybe I can watch between nap and scrubbing crayon off the wall. Come on! It’s only fair. Nick at night got TV Land.

What were your favorite 90s Nickelodeon shows?

Mine:
Salute Your Shorts
Hey Dude
Welcome Back Freshman
Are You Afraid of The Dark
The Roundhouse
You Can’t Do That On Television
Doug
My Brother And Me – if only for the Goo Punch song
Pete & Pete – solely for the awesome theme song and Arty the strongest man in the world!

Leave a Reply

