Queen of Salad

15 Aug

The weather has been miserable here all weekend. Cold, rainy, and not the type of weather you would want to run in.  I’m definitely missing running. Plus I’d like to try out my new knee sleeves.

I have crazy bad knees from soccer and field hockey. I used to have this god awful torture device of a knee brace I got from the orthopedic surgeon when I first injured my knee.  So happy I don’t need those anymore!

Aside from that I’m excited to announce I’ve lost 3 pounds. While it may not seem like a lot to you it is to me.  I’ve been at 175 (my second goal weight) since April.  No matter what I seemed to do I was either maintaining that weight or gaining 3 more pounds back.  Now that I’m under it feels good and his given me even more motivation to keep at it.

Oh, and since there are no secrets, I totally celebrated with a chocolate cupcake last night 😎

Cupcakes and all my eats have been pretty clean.  No processed foods, no refined sugars, no juice blah blah blah etc you know the deal.

Breakfast was leftover mashed sweet potato with Greek Yogurt, 1/4 cup raw oats, and a drizzle of maple syrup from a local farm, and cinnamon.

For lunch I had a serving of Alexia sweet potato fries and egg salad over a bed of baby spinach.  It definitely hit the spot!

In the mix:
1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper
~1/4 cup chopped onion
1 boiled egg (cage free, veg fed)
1 boiled egg minus yolk
1tsp yellow mustard
1tbsp – 0% Greek yogurt
1/2 tap Sweet relish

20110815-013708.jpg

I’m really obsessed with making egg, chicken, or tuna salads because as a child I was deprived.  My mother absolutely hates with a passion any condiment that is white. Just the thought of it will make her ill. That means our house lacked things like mayonnaise, miracle whip, ranch dressing, alfredo sauce,  sour cream (ok this one is weird because she used sour cream to make onion dip).

I got my fix of deviled eggs, potato salad, tuna salad etc when spending the summers with my grandma (my mom’s mom).  She is the queen of making salads and her condiment of choice MIRACLE WHIP.

So I guess my ode to my grandma is making all her salads “healthier” by using Greek Yogurt instead of the traditional Miracle whip. Honestly, it taste almost the same. Possibly, because she uses a lot of onion, celery, bell pepper so you get those flavors.

P.S. – Still going strong on the shred despite my hatred of Jillian’s voice now.

 

Leave a Reply

