Leftover Chicken (Noodle) Soup

12 Oct

I owe you guys a soup recipe from a few weeks ago. It totally slipped my mind but since today is cold and dreary I decided a big warm bowl was needed.

This soup isn’t a real recipe but my family seems to love it. It started with my need to use up a leftover whole chicken from Sunday dinner, some spinach that was on it’s last leg, and carrots.

Basically, this is just a guide depending on how it tastes I add more veggies depending on what’s in my fridge and I add more seasonings depending on how it tastes. Sometimes I even make my own broth by boiling the chicken carcass with herbs and vegetables.

Leftover Chicken (Noodle) Soup

Ingredients

  • Leftover chicken carcass meat torn off bones
  • Onion
  • Minced garlic
  • Celery chopped
  • Carrots chopped
  • Spinach (or other leafy green
  • Whole Grain Egg Noodles
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • Dried Thyme
  • Dried Oregano
  • Fresh Ground Pepper

Directions

The easy way to make this soup is to take your veggies (carrots, onions, celery) and chop them up.  They don’t have to be perfect or uniform because they will cook down, soup is forgiving!

Put your chicken carcass in a large stock pot and cover with water. Add in your chopped veggies, herbs, and garlic. Simmer for 2-3 hours. Next strain so you are only left with a nice broth.

To make the soup. I just chop of more veggies and add more herbs plus the leftover chicken I put aside. Once the veggies are soft I add the noodles and cook on high 8-10 minutes.

After that you’re done. Serve with your favorite crusty bread!

Note: The soup tastes better the longer you let it sit. It’s amazing the next day or if you make it in the morning in the crockpot and come home to eat. Also the noodles soak up a lot of the broth. Just be aware. You can add 2 cups of water and a little extra seasonings.

2 Responses to “Leftover Chicken (Noodle) Soup”

  1. frugalfeeding October 12, 2011 at 6:46 PM #

    Good use of leftovers, nice.

  2. YUMMommy October 14, 2011 at 2:22 PM #

    Looks good. I’m not a fan of chicken noodle soup drowned with broth. This looks perfect.

Leave a Reply

