Broccoli Rabe

15 Jan

Broccoli rabe is a member of the cabbage family and is rich in vitamins A & C, vitamin B (folate), potassium, fiber, and calcium (Whole Living).

This power veggie is said to be antioxidant rich and help protect against certain cancers, heart disease, and birth defects.

It’s not something I’ve ever picked up in the store myself but I was gifted one bunch and I’m always up for a cooking challenge.

This veggie is known to be bitter which is the main reason I ended up with it. My mom’s friend couldn’t get rid of the bitter taste so she sent over the remaining bunch. After some consulting with my BFF Google, I discovered the key for a less bitter dish is to BOIL before sautéing.

 

What You’ll Need:

Olive Oil

1 Bunch Broccoli Rabe

Sea Salt

Pepper

Crushed Red Pepper

Garlic

 

 

Bring a pot of salted water to boiling and add broccoli rabe.

Cook for 4 minutes then add to ice bath to stop cooking. (Or you can just throw a few ice cubes in the colander and run water over it like me haha) Drain well.

Add a tablespoon of olive oil to a pan and your garlic. Cook for about a minute then add your broccoli rabe and season to taste. I used red pepper flakes and freshly ground pepper.

Now serve!!!

I ate mine with a bowl of quinoa mixed with kidney beans and fire roasted garlic tomatoes. Delicious and filling!

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

