Down With the Sickness

28 Jan

Pretty much everyone in this house is miserable in sick.

It started with Little Man and as I’ve always said kids are like little plague spreaders. They’ll ALWAYS take you down with them.

I have some tried and true methods that usually work for me like peppermint tea, with raw honey, Echinacea, lemon, and a hint of whiskey. I also chug down water with raw unfiltered apple cider vinegar. This usually works like a charm…except now.

No matter how much ACV and tea I chugged down it couldn’t fight off this bad boy. I ended up caving and going to see the doctor. My throat is killing me and my tonsils are swollen, only I don’t have strep. The doctor prescribed me meds anyway because of the tonsils. Also the Little Man has a double ear infection.

To top everything off school started again. Sitting through Chem II and Bio when you feel like death is just torture. I don’t know how I’m going to study for my Chem quiz.

Even being sickly I managed to bang out a recipe. Not soo much a recipe as I can’t get down most food. I’ve lost 4 pounds possibly a bright side???

 

Anyway here goes the soup recipe

photo (20)

Super Simple Minestrone Soup

4 cups vegetable broth ( I used organic low sodium)

1 can diced tomatoes ( I used zesty chile flavor)

2 large carrots chopped

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 can dark red kidney beans

1/2 package fresh spinach

2.5 cups cooked pasta (I used veggie rotoni)

1/2 tsp ground sage

1 tsp ground thyme

3 bay leaves

1/2 tsp oregano

 

Directions

1) In a soup pot pour in your vegetable broth, diced tomatoes, and kidney beans and simmer on medium heat.

2) Add in your chopped carrots, onions, and whatever other veggie you have on hand but leave out spinach.

3) Add in your cooked pasta. This pasta already cooked and leftover from another recipe so I used it. You could cook your pasta ahead of time or while the veggies are getting soft in your soup.

4) Add in all your seasonings and simmer for 45 minutes (mostly so the carrots aren’t super hard).

5) Add in your spinach (or kale) now because it only takes a minute for that to wilt.

6) Eat and enjoy!

One Response to “Down With the Sickness”

  1. YUMMommy January 28, 2012 at 1:56 PM #

    Aww..hope you all get well soon. I remember those three weeks we all got sick. It was pure torture. It was like the germs just kept circulating. I was bleaching and lysoling everything at least twice a day.

    Will have to try the soup recipe for sure.

Leave a Reply

