Crazy About Stir Fry

24 Feb

Recently I have been obsessed with making stir fry. They are fast when you don’t have a lot of time to cook, you can get in A LOT of veggies, and they are very filling.

Two recent eats have been fried rice I made for lunch using leftover brown rice from dinner the night before and a veggie stir fry I made for my parents who want to limit their meat intake.

This rice is super easy to make. I just toasted the rice in a wok for 2 minutes with a bit of sesame oil and then I pushed the rice to one side of the pan, cracked an egg on the opposite side and scrambled it. Less mess to clean up by using the same pan! Next add the veggies (leftover as well) + soy sauce + ginger + garlic and cook until it’s hot.

Fried Rice

  • Leftover Brown Rice
  • 1 Egg for protein
  • Frozen Mixed Veggies
  • Soy Sauce (reduced sodium)
  • Minced Garlic
  • Ground Ginger

 

 

Veggie Stir Fry

  • Shiritaki Tofu Noodles
  • Frozen Edamame for protein
  • Frozen Stir Fry Veggies
  • Soy Sauce
  • Minced Garlic
  • Ground Ginger
  • Brown Sugar

 

The veggie stir fry is easy to make as well and everyone loved it including the little guy. I steamed the veggies for a couple minutes to get them a bit softer for my little man to eat. While they were steaming I prepared the noodles per package direction.

The shiritaki noodles are amazing. I found them in the produce section of my grocery store. They are made out of tofu have no carbs, a whole pack is only 40 calories, and they taste just like noodles. The only thing is before you cook them they smell AWFUL. They come packed in liquid and the liquid smells like fish guts. Be sure to rinse them very well before hand and boil for the suggested 2 minutes. 

Once the veggies have softened a bit and the noodles are done I threw it all in my wok and tossed it around for a bit with the sauce I made using garlic, ginger, soy sauce, and a teeny bit of brown sugar.

Quick and easy meals. Healthy, a good way to get in your veggies and protein without meat!

3 Responses to “Crazy About Stir Fry”

  1. YUMMommy February 24, 2012 at 11:37 AM #

    I love stir fry too. It’s a one pot meal that is not only easy on clean up but very healthy and nutritionally balanced!

  2. lulu February 24, 2012 at 11:51 AM #

    Recently i have been on a stir fry craze. There are so many good things to fix with whatever is in the fridge and it’s easy to have a tasty meal in minutes. I’m hooked!

    • healthhappinesskale February 29, 2012 at 4:11 PM #

      yes! they are the best especially easy when you can use leftovers you already have!

Leave a Reply

