My Go to Meal

20 Mar

Growing up my mom used to make “nachos” by putting tortilla chips on a plate, pouring salsa over the them, sprinkling cheese on top, and microwaving them for about a minute. My friends and I would eat them at sleepovers and occasionally I still make a small plate as a snack.

Inspired by this childhood favorite I decided to make a healthier bulked up version that could serve as a meal. The nachos I came up with are very easy to make and take no time at all to prepare. I usually make them on a day I have a class because it literally is no fuss.

 

 

Ingredients

  • 1 Can Low Sodium Beans (I like black or kidney)
  • Cumin
  • Garlic Powder
  • Chili Powder
  • Greens (I usually use kale or spinach)
  • Tortilla Chips (again your preference)
  • Cheese
  • Salsa

Optional

  • Chopped Onions
  • Sliced Black Olives
  • Chopped Tomato
  • Sliced Chili Peppers
  • Corn

 

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees (or use the broiler). Next add a thin layer of chips to your baking sheet.

2) Wash your greens and chop into bite size pieces. If you’re like me you will just rip them with your hands because who has time to chop. Next you want to put them in a microwave safe dish and cook for 1 minute.

I do this for 2 reasons. Reason 1: Kale is a bit tough in it’s raw state so I like to soften it up. Reason 2: (If using spinach) Your body absorbs more iron from cooked spinach than it does from raw spinach. You check that out here. Reason 3: Easier for my toddler to eat.

3) Open your can of beans, drain and rinse thoroughly. Add spices to taste (cumin, garlic powder, chili powder). Then pour evenly over your chips.

4) Add your salsa. When I use jar salsa I add chopped tomatoes to the nachos.

5) Layer on the rest of your toppings and bake for 5 minutes. If using the broiler really watch it because I tend to burn them.

And there you have it an easy meal that will keep you satisfied. You’ve got protein from the beans and cheese. Calcium from the cheese and greens not to mention your vitamin A & C and healthy fats from the olives!

 

It looks like a lot of steps but you’re really just throwing everything on the pan.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

